The Pettigrew Regional Library system has more than just books and ordinary library items! With your library card you can borrow board games, puzzles, tools, blocks, toys, and much, much more! For more information, contact the front desk of your local library.

With over 850 lessons and 9,000 individual activities for children between the ages of 2 and 8, this interactive online learning academy is available at each of the libraries in the Pettigrew Regional System. Just log into one of the public library desktops with your library card and you can start learning right away!

Click on spot to start searching our kid's catalog!

Crash Course

Hosted by famous author John Green and his brother Hank Green, Crash Course provides entire educational series on science, history, literature, physics, biology, chemistry, economics, astronomy, business, theater, and even gaming!

 

Extra Credits

Started and run by video game designers and history enthusiasts, Extra Credits produces in-depth animated video series on video game development, history, mythology, literature, and political science!

 

Geography Now!

Hosted by Paul Barbato, Geography Now! produces videos that explain the geography and cultural background of countries, states/provinces, and regions all across the world.

 

Historia Civilis

Historia Civilis provides detailed videos explaining Ancient Greek and Roman history that stretches across a variety of different historical perspectives. The channel explains the political system of the Ancient World, the military campaigns of famous figures, and the culture of these ancient peoples.

 

Kurzgesagt

Based out of a German animation studio, Kurzgesagt provides educational animated videos that center upon topics in science, astronomy, biology, technology, philosophy, and psychology.

 

Minutephysics

Minutephysics produces stop motion animated videos that help explain concepts in physics and mathematics in a precise and approachable manner.

 

MinuteEarth

MinuteEarth is run by the same people who run Minutephysics, their channel produces stop motion animated videos that focus on physical science and other scientific subjects concerning the Earth and its environment. These videos are usually short but concise with their information.

 

Veritasium

Veritasium, hosted by Derek Muller, produces videos that explore concepts and the science behind developments in the fields of chemistry and physics.

Click the links below to search up Accelerated Readers Levels and Lexile Levels for the books you are reading in school!

Download the Libby app, or visit the NC Kids Website to browse thousands of Audiobooks and E-books just for kids! You only need your library card to get started! Check-out and download to your device wonderful books for kids!

NCLearn@Home

NCLearn@Home is a NEW online learning website to connect you with the history and culture of North Carolina. Designed for teachers, students, parents, and anyone looking to educate themselves on the State of North Carolina, this resource has comprehensive lesson plans, educator resources, State Library and State Archives collections, and virtual assistance from state librarians and educators, as well as offerings from our state’s natural and cultural institutions.

 

Testing Prep Resources

 

Khan Academy Test Prep

 

Online Textbooks and Resources

 

Gale Virtual Reference Center

Open Education North Carolina Collection

Containing textbooks and commonly used literature at North Carolina colleges and high schools, this e-book collection is an easy way to cut down on the price of higher education while utilizing the FREE resources available at your library!

 

Other Helpful Tools, Databases, and Resources

 

NCLive

 

Mathigon

Mathigon is a FREE online learning tool that helps teach mathematical concepts in problem solving, algebra, geometry, and other secondary level mathematics.

 

Codecademy

Codecademy is a FREE online learning tool that teaches users computer coding in a variety of computer languages, including HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, Python, Ruby, and PHP.

 

Khan Academy

Khan Academy is FREE online learning tool that offers hundreds of courses in several areas of mathematics, science, history, computers, standardized testing, and college prep.

 

Coursera

Coursera is an online learning tool that offers free courses in a wide range of subjects for high school and the college level. Partnering with colleges and other educational institutions around the world, this resource provides high quality lessons on a number of career paths.