Circulating audiovisual materials shall be loaned to eligible borrowers for personal or classroom use, in accordance with copyright restrictions. Library materials may not be used in programs where admission fees are charged or for commercial use.

The loan period for all videos (in video cassette or DVD format) is two weeks. Each borrower may check out up to three videos at a time. There is no grace period for overdue videos.

The fine rate for overdue videos is $1.00 per day, up to a maximum of the replacement cost for the item. The charge for lost videos is the full replacement cost.

Audiobooks (in any format) will be treated as print materials. The same circulation rules which apply to print materials will apply to Audiobooks. However, if one part of a multiple-part audiocassette title is lost or damaged, the patron is responsible for any replacement cost. The charge for lost or damaged audio CDs is the full replacement cost.

CD-ROMs will be treated as print materials. The same circulation rules which apply to print materials will apply to CD-ROMs. The charge for lost or damaged CD-ROMs is the full replacement cost.

Approved by Regional Board: 29 January 2001
Revised: 27 November 2006

Books

Books (other than reference books and books placed on limited reserve) may be checked out for a two week period and may be renewed by the patron for up to two additional loan periods, as long as a hold has not been placed on the title. The library may recall a renewed book at any time, as demand warrants. A book will be considered overdue the day after the due date assigned by the CIRC system.

Reference Materials

Items classified as reference books must be used in the library. These items may not be checked out other than under special circumstances, approved by library staff. Reference materials may be shared among the libraries in the Region, and will be restricted to use inside the borrowing library.

Titles on Reserve

Books, magazines and other library materials which are needed by a number of individuals during a limited period of time may be placed on reserve by library staff. Items on reserve may be restricted to in-library use only, or may be checked out for a limited period of 1, 2, or 3 days, as determined by the library. Reserve status takes precedence over the normal circulation designation of any item.

Periodicals

Back issues of magazines may be checked out for a two-week period. The most current issue of any magazine will be limited to in-library use, unless overnight loan is specifically approved by library staff. Newspapers may be checked out at the discretion of library staff.

Deposits

A returnable deposit (up to the value of the item) may be required, at the librarian's discretion, for the loan of materials with a high loss rate.

Approved by Regional Board: 25 January 1999
Revised: 27 November 2006

I. The Community
Pettigrew Regional Library is a regional system serving Chowan, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington Counties in eastern North Carolina with one branch library in each County. The community is mostly rural and sparsely populated with a diversity of racial and ethnic groups, the majority are lower to middle income families. Each county is unique due to the disparity in their population size and available employment and educational opportunities.

II. Objective
The objective of the collection development policy is to provide the materials relevant to the needs of the patrons of the communities that the Regional Library serves, including but not limited to educational, informational and recreational material.

III. Responsibility for Collection Development
The Regional Board of Trustees considers and adopts a Collection Development Policy which the Library Director administers. The County Librarians are responsible for selecting the materials for their individual libraries which they determine most effectively meet the needs of their community while coordinating their selections in order that their respective collections may complement each other.  The Director allocates the materials budget annually and approves all selections.

IV. Materials Selection Process
The County Librarians use a variety of tools to aid the selection of materials including such sources as professional review journals, popular print and broadcast media, bookstores, electronic interest groups, publishers' catalogs, purchase alerts, and patron and staff recommendations.

Criteria for Materials Selection

• Level of funding for materials
• Relevance to the Regional Library's mission (See Mission Statement)
• Informational and recreational needs of users
• Local demand
• Current usefulness or interest
• Community needs surveys and assessments
• Authority and accuracy
• Importance as a record of the times
• Relevance to the existing collection's strengths and weaknesses
• High standards of quality in content and format
• Price and availability
• Format, durability and ease of use
• Suitability of format for subject and user's needs

V. Scope of the Collection
The library provides materials and services that reflect the diverse educational, information, and recreational needs of its users. In so doing, the library provides access to content through print, multimedia and technology. The Library collects materials in a variety of formats, 
including, when appropriate:

• Print — such as hard covers, paperbacks, magazines, and newspapers
• Non-print – such as audio and video formats, puzzles and games, artwork, and microforms
• Digital resources – such as on-line databases; digital books, recordings, and images; digital historical archives; software programs; and the Internet.

The Librarians will select materials that respond to the needs of students through elementary, junior and senior high schools when deemed necessary to support the schools' library collection. The collection for children is to be chosen with emphasis on materials that develop reading ability, inform children about the world around them, stimulate the imagination, and entertain.

VI. Collection Maintenance
In order to maintain a collection that is current, reliable, in good condition, well used, and which relates to the needs and interests of the community, materials will be withdrawn on a. systematic and continuing basis. Materials are withdrawn when they are judged to be dated, inaccurate, seldom used, in poor condition, or otherwise not in compliance with the Criteria for Materials Selection.

VII. Controversial Materials: Intellectual Freedom
In the interest of protecting the individual's right to have access to materials, the Library supports the following documents:

• The First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution
• The Library Bill of Rights - Adopted June 18, 1948, amended February 2, 1967, and June 23, 1980, inclusion of "age" reaffirmed January 23, 1996, by the ALA (American Library Association) Council
• The Freedom to Read Statement- Adopted June 25, 1953; revised January 28, 1972, January 16, 1991, July 12, 2000, June 30, 2004, by the ALA Council and the AAP Freedom to Read Committee

VIII. Procedure for Handling Challenges
In accordance with ALA guidelines, any questions or complaints about library materials will be handled courteously and calmly recognizing the sincere concern of the complainant.  The Regional Board will have a standing committee to deal with issues of and challenges to intellectual freedom. The committee will be comprised of:

• One member from each member library
• The Chairman of the Regional Board
• The Regional Director
• The County Librarian of the library where the challenge originated

When a question or concern about the appropriateness of any material in the library’s collection is directed by a patron to any staff member other than the County Librarian, the issue will be referred to the County Librarian. The County Librarian will then attempt to resolve the complainant’s concern through informal discussion and by referring to the Regional Library’s Collection Development Policy. The County Librarian’s defense shall be based on principles and policy and 

not on the particular material in question. If no resolution is reached in the informal discussion, the patron may then choose to formally challenge the material’s appropriateness. 

The procedure for formally challenging the appropriateness of library material is as follows:

A.    A copy of the Regional Library’s “Request for Reconsideration” form will be provided to the complainant by the County Librarian. The County Librarian shall inform the complainant that in order for any action to be taken on the request the form must be properly completed and signed and then returned to the County Librarian. The County Librarian shall forward any properly completed and signed Request for Consideration forms to the Regional Director. 
B.    The Regional Director will review any Request for Reconsideration submitted and meet with the complainant within a reasonable period of time in order to explain the Regional Library’s Policy and attempt to resolve the complainant’s concern informally. If the Regional Director is unable to resolve the complainant’s concern the form will be presented to the Chairman of Pettigrew Regional Library’s Intellectual Freedom Committee.  The Regional Director will decide if the challenged item should remain in the circulating collection during the remainder of the challenge process.
C.    Upon receipt of a Request for Reconsideration, the Intellectual Freedom Committee will set a date to meet within a reasonable period of time to consider the request. The Committee will have access to the material in question, any available reviews of the material, any other pertinent information regarding the reason for its inclusion in the collection, the Collection Development Policy of Pettigrew Regional Library and the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution as well as the ALA documents which have been adopted as part of this policy.

The Committee will consider the patron’s Request for Reconsideration based on the terms of these documents and make a decision as to whether the material in question is in accordance with the Collection Development Policy. The Committee will reply with their decision in writing to the complainant within thirty days of the filing of the Request for Reconsideration. 
D.    If the challenged material is found to be in accordance with the Collection Development Policy it will be reinstated to its proper place in the collection. If the committee finds that the challenged material in any way violates the policy, it shall be removed from the collection. 
E.    If after receiving the Committee’s response the complainant continues to feel that the problem has been dealt with inadequately, he/she may appeal to the Regional Board as a whole. If this occurs the Regional Board will contact the ALA and the North Carolina Library Association Intellectual Freedom Committee and determine with their advice the appropriate course of action for resolving the issue. 

Throughout this process the complainant will be kept informed and treated with courtesy and respect. 

IX. Review of Policy
This policy is subject to review by the Regional Board as time and circumstance requires.

Approved by Regional Board:  May 24, 2010

The library’s purpose in providing computers and Internet access is to expand and enhance the library’s research and information services. However, because there is no controlling authority over the quality or proliferation of Internet sites, the library cannot vouch for the accuracy, value, appropriateness, or continued availability of content found there.  In using the Internet as a source of information, one may retrieve materials that are unreliable, unsuitable or offensive. Consequently, the library does not endorse any content found via the library’s Internet connection. 

An Internet content filter will be employed on all library computers to block access to visual depictions deemed obscene, pornographic, or harmful to minors. Additionally, the filter will be used to block categories of websites prohibited by this policy.  Users are advised that no technology measures are failsafe. Conversely, such measures may block useful information from being retrieved. The library’s goal in employing such measures is to strike the best possible balance between the public need for information and the community expectation for the protection of minors, while advancing the library’s purpose in providing Internet access.  

Conditions for using the library’s computers and internet connection:

• Regular users must hold a valid library card from a member library of the Pettigrew Regional Library (PRL) system and must be in good standing.  Visitors and temporary residents who are ineligible for a PRL card may request guest access. 
• Each user must agree to this Acceptable Use Policy each time they log on.  By clicking the Accept on the screen, each user agrees to use the library’s connection to the Internet only for purposes consistent with the library’s purpose in providing it. 
• Parents (or legal guardians) of children under age 17 must accept responsibility for their children by signing a permission statement in person at the library before the child’s first use. In granting permission for the child’s use of the library’s Internet connection, the parent (guardian) accepts full responsibility for the child’s behavior and experiences while using the library’s computers.
• Users must have basic computer skills.
• Access generally will be restricted to one user per computer at a time.  A maximum of two persons working together on a research project, or an adult and child may use a computer simultaneously. 
• Users will be allotted a 60-minute block of time on the computer. Additional time may be allowed if no other person wishes to use the computer at the end of the user’s initial block of time.  A daily limit of 2 hours per day per user may be imposed.
• Students enrolled in online educational courses may arrange for longer blocks of time to do their coursework if enough computers are available.

Rules:  

In order to protect the library’s computers and users, certain activities are prohibited. These are described as follows:

Misuse of library equipment:

Users will be denied use of the library’s computers if they:

• Engage in unauthorized access to files, passwords, or data belonging to the library or to others
• Alter, damage, or remove any hardware component, including mouse or headphones
• Change any settings, configurations, or files, or otherwise compromise normal use
• Attempt to use any applications other than those properly licensed to the library 
• Download or save any files or applications to the computer’s hard disk
• Make any unauthorized copies of copyrighted material or licensed software
• Willfully propagate computer worms, viruses, or any other type of harmful files

Misuse of internet access:

Library staff have the authority to ask users to leave any web page, and close any message or attachment, that is commonly regarded as inappropriate in a public setting.  Applying community standards to text and images, unacceptable content is that reasonably construed as obscene or profane, or as promoting violence or hatred.  Users who fail to comply immediately with staff requests, or who must be asked repeatedly to leave inappropriate content, will be denied use of the library’s Internet connection thereafter.

Additionally, users will be denied access to the library’s Internet connection if they:

• Misrepresent themselves by access code, password, signature, or description
• Transmit any communication in violation of a United States or North Carolina law or regulation
• Harass, slander or libel another person via the Internet
• Incur costs linked to the library’s address
• Reveal personal identification information about any minor (including oneself) or about anyone other than oneself via e-mail or any other electronic communication
• Subscribe to or engage in any use that is inconsistent with the library’s stated purposes.  Such unacceptable uses include but are not limited to:
  • Conducting business or commercial activities
  • Meeting and messaging in chat rooms other than discussion boards for online classes or virtual reference services from recognized libraries
  • Subscribing to dating services or any service in which personal information is exchanged
  • Gambling or other unlawful online activities 
  • Willful viewing of content which is considered harmful to minors as defined by North Carolina General Statute or United States Code

Limitations:

Library staff will gladly help users of the library’s computers to successfully use available electronic resources.  However, the library staff will not be able to teach computer skills or to conduct lengthy searches on demand.

E-mail accounts will not be provided by the library.  Users may access their own web-based e-mail accounts established with other providers.

Downloading is restricted to removable storage devices.  Users are advised that files which have been downloaded from the Internet may contain viruses.  The library reserves the right to deny use of a user’s removable storage device if it is infected or otherwise corrupt.  

The library assumes no responsibility for users’ damages, loss of data, or loss of privacy resulting from the use of the library’s computers and Internet connections.

One or more computers may be designated as Public Access Catalog (PAC) only, to be used for less than 30 minutes and only to search the library catalog.

Educational games on library computers and Internet games are permitted, so long as the games do not contain elements considered inappropriate as described above.  However, patrons playing games may be asked to relinquish their time to patrons needing to do research.

Printing:

Printing capability will be provided for each public workstation to the extent possible.  Black-and-white printing will be the default option, but patrons needing color prints may request them.  Charges for black-and-white printing and for color printing will be posted.  Users are advised to use the “print preview” feature to avoid printing unwanted pages.  Charges will be based on the number of sheets emerging from the printer.

Unrestricted access:

Adult users (age 17 and above) may request temporary override of the filter if they encounter erroneous blocks to web pages that are likely to be allowable in terms of pertinent statutes and this policy.

Privacy:
Because the library is a public institution and the staff has responsibility for monitoring and facilitating use of public computers, users are not guaranteed privacy.

Revised by Regional Board: 28 June 2004
Amended: 15 November 2010

The library boards and staffs will encourage the giving of money to the libraries, as endowments, bequests, gifts in memory of or in honor of someone, or as unspecified donations. No limitations or conditions attached to a gift will be accepted unless approved by action of the appropriate library board.

Gifts of tangible property other than library materials will be accepted with the approval of the library board.

New books or materials may be donated to the library as memorial/honor gifts with the agreement of the librarian that the material is suitable to be added to the collection. Book plates will be attached. After making the item available for inspection by the donor and the family of the honored person, it will be subject to the same restrictions and procedures applied to regular library materials, including circulation, evaluation, withdrawal and disposal. Book plates will be removed at the time the item is removed from the library's collection when appropriate.

Used books and other materials will be accepted by the libraries on the condition that the librarian has authority to use and/or dispose of the materials in the manner deemed most appropriate and beneficial to the library.

The library staff may not appraise gifts or attach a value to a donation for tax-deduction purposes. Upon request, an acknowledgement statement will be completed and supplied to the donor.

Approved by Regional Board: 22 November 1988
Revised: 26 June 2006

First-time Borrower: There is no charge for the first library card. Before issuing a card, ask the borrower if they have had a card in the past. Double check the Borrower’s file in the circulation computer to make sure they haven’t had a card in the past. If they had a card in the past, please follow replacement procedures.

Adult: The borrower must show a picture ID with a current mailing address. If the address is not current, a piece of mail, check book, or bill with the current address must also be produced. The patron must either reside, or work, in one of the four counties in the Pettigrew Regional Library System. After completing the information and signing the card, a library card will be issues. The first time borrower is limited to three checkouts, the first visit, and unrestricted thereafter. The only exception to this rule is that only three DVDs may be checked out at any time.

Nonresident: There is a $15.00 fee to issue a card requested by an individual who does not live, work, or own property in one of the four PRL counties. The waiving of this fee is up to the discretion of the Librarian. A current ID (driver’s license) must be shown and recorded on the registration card. While an ID may be presented for computer use, and a Guest Pass issued, an individual must have a library card to check out materials. Nonresident checkout is limited to one item the first visit and three items thereafter.

Teacher: An individual who homeschools, teaches in a conventional school system, day care, head start, or is a mentor may be issued a Teacher card, which allows a four-week checkout period for items other than materials that are clearly not for teacher use. (for example, popular novels) The requirements for issuance of a card to an adult apply. The applicant must have an adult card for popular materials and new books that are not teacher’s materials, in order to be issued a Teacher card

Children (under age 17): In order to obtain a library card, the child applying for the card, must be accompanied by their legal guardian. The child must be able to write his first and last name legibly on the registration card to be able to obtain a library card. The legal guardian can complete the rest of the information required and must sign the front of the card. The legal guardian must have an adult card, and be in good standing, to register the child. The adult’s card number is written on the front of the registration card. If the child is allowed to use the computers, the legal guardian must sign the back of the card. The child’s card will be linked to their guardian’s card. In the event of an overdue or lost item, both cards will be blocked from usage until the fine or fee 1-2 is paid. The guardian is responsible for all losses and overdues incurred by the child.

The staff member must review the information on the registration card for completeness and legibility before issuing the library card. A quick and general overview of library checkout policy, including the policy of not letting others use their library card, should be given.

Pictures may be taken of the patrons, both adult and children, and will be available to be seen by library staff only. This protects our library patrons from someone else using their card and possibly incurring charges on their card. It is a safeguard against identity theft.

Replacement: There is a $3.00 fee to replace a library card. The address and telephone number must be reviewed to ensure that they are current. Any change, as well as the new library card number must be written on the registration card. Only one card is allowed per patron (except in the case of a Teacher) at any given time.

Renewal: Library cards expire two years from the date of issuance. They are renewed without charge. The library card holder is asked to verify that their address, email address and telephone number are current at the time of renewal.

A borrower’s card from any library in the Region will be honored at all other libraries in the system. However, borrowers whose privileges have been blocked by one library in the Region will be denied borrowing privileges in the other libraries in the Pettigrew Regional Library system for the duration of the delinquency. Delinquent adults are not permitted to sign for a borrower’s card for a child.

Use of another’s card: The use of another’s card, to check out materials or to use the computer will result in the suspension of both the card holder and card bearer’s cards for the length of a week. If this becomes a continuous problem, the suspension can be for a longer period of time, at the Librarian’s discretion.

Approved by Regional Board: 16 November 1987
Revised: 29 January 1999; 23 January 2006; 14 November 2011; 9 May 2014; 23 May 2015

Circulation periods and their applicable fines

There are two basic circulation periods - 2 weeks, and limited. Fines applicable to these periods are addressed below. Patrons issued a teacher’s card may check classroom material out for 4 weeks.

2 week circulation period

Items with a 2 week circulation period will circulate in CIRC for 12 business days. Once overdue, a grace period of 6 business days begins. If the overdue item is returned during the grace period no fine is charged. Once the grace period expires, a fine of $.25 per day, retroactive to the item’s due date, will begin to accrue. The fine amount will continue to accrue until it reaches the replacement cost of the item (taken from that item’s record). If there is no cost in the record, CIRC will use a default replacement cost. All processing fees are included in the item’s replacement cost.

Limited circulation period

Items in this category have a circulation period of one, two or three days. There is no grace period for these items. Once they become overdue, a fine of $1.00 per day will begin to accrue until it reaches the replacement cost of the item (taken from that item’s record). If there is no cost in the record, CIRC will provide a default replacement cost. All processing fees are included in the item’s replacement cost.

This category includes Reserve 1, 2, or 3-day, newspapers, current periodicals, and any items that do not normally circulate (reference, professional collection, and programming). If a noncirculating item is checked out under special circumstances, and the item becomes overdue, the fines defined for the limited circulation period will apply.

Notification schedule

The overdue notice cycle encompasses all the actions taken to retrieve overdue items. Patron notification begins with a phone call, email or a postcard. This initial notification is made as a courtesy to apprise the borrower of his overdue status and impending fine liability.

The first notice generated by the CIRC system one week after the due date is mailed to the borrower. The second and final notice generated two weeks after the first notice is also mailed to the patron. Replacement costs owed by these borrowers are determined at that time. Any borrower owing more than $50.00 may be referred to the county attorney. If there is no response within 30 days of the attorney’s letter to the borrower, the librarian is authorized to contact the magistrate about initiating legal action. 

Outstanding fines

A borrower who has been assessed an overdue fine will be considered delinquent until the fine is paid, even if the materials have been returned. Overdue items returned through the book deposit are subject to fines, just as items returned to the circulation desk.

A borrower with overdue materials or outstanding fines will be denied borrowing and computer privileges throughout the Region until the delinquency is cleared. Parental responsibility When a juvenile borrower becomes delinquent, the adult who accepted responsibility for the child on the registration card will also be considered delinquent.

Approved by Regional Board: 25 January 1999
Revised: 25 June 2007; 14 November 2011; 18 May 2015

It shall be the Policy of the Regional Board of Trustees to maintain in the library system a quiet, pleasant environment conducive to serious study as well as casual use. To assure the successful implementation of this policy, the Board considers the following to be unacceptable behavior:

Using library materials, furniture, equipment or facilities in any manner inconsistent with the customary use thereof or the theft or intentional damaging of library materials, furniture, equipment or facilities

Removal of any library property from the building without authorization through established lending procedures.

Use of library telephones by any person without permission

Carrying unauthorized weapons of any sort

Engaging in disorderly conduct, committing a nuisance, or unreasonably disturbing and offending library users or staff members, including, but not limited to, the following:

• Loud conversation or laughter which is disturbing to other users
• Obscene or abusive language.
• Smoking in library. This includes the use of any tobacco products, electronic cigarettes, and illegal drug use.
• Use of a cellular phone and any personal audio devices such as radios and other players, etc. Such devices must be switched off prior to entry into the library.
• Blocking, or in any way interfering with the free movement of any person or persons, or any form of harassment.
• Bringing animals other than service animals into the building.
• Consumption of food, beverages or illicit drugs.
• Soliciting or selling of any kind without the permission of the library staff.
• Distribution of leaflets or posting of notices in areas not authorized for this purpose.
• Entering designated staff-only areas of the building without permission.
• Rearranging of any library furniture or equipment from one location to another.
• Engaging in any sexual contact, activities or conduct.
• Using electronic equipment in such a way as to disturb other users.
• Not wearing shoes or shirt within the library, or wearing clothing that is indecent by normal standards.
• Improperly using library restrooms or facilities for purposes such as bathing, shaving or changing clothes.
• Taking library materials into rest rooms. 
• Violating the libraries rules for acceptable use of the internet and library public computers. A user accepts these rules before accessing the internet through a library computer. 
• Leaving young children or adults that need a caretaker alone and unsupervised. The caretaker, parent or guardian is responsible for children and adults that need supervision.
• Loitering and not using the library for study, reading, or other library activities
• Sleeping in the library
• Excessive body odor or perfume that offends other patrons
• Cyber bullying
• Bullying of any kind
• Abusive behavior or threatening staff or patrons, physically or verbally

Library staff are authorized by the Regional Board to see that persons committing any of the above acts be removed from the library. Staff members are expected to respond to problem patrons as politely and calmly as possible, but also to call on law enforcement officials for assistance as necessary.

Library staff members should be familiar with state statutes and applicable local ordinances.

NORTH CAROLINA LAWS PERTAINING TO THE MODEL DISRUPTIVE BEHAVIOR POLICY

G.S. 14-33 Misdemeanor assaults, batteries, and affrays.
G.S. 14-76 Larceny, mutilation, or destruction of public records and papers.
G.S. 14-127 Willful and wanton injury to real property.
G.S. 14-132 Disorderly conduct in and injuries to public buildings and facilities.
G.S. 14-159.13 Second degree trespass after being forbidden.
G.S. 14-190.9 Indecent exposure.
G.S. 14-204.1 Loitering for the purpose of engaging in prostitution offense.
G.S. 14-269 Carrying concealed weapons.
G.S. 14-277.1 Communicating threats.
G.S. 14-398 Theft or destruction of property of public libraries, museums, etc.
G.S. 153A-266 Powers and duties of trustees.

Approved by Regional Board: 26 September 2017